Younger Brother : Acoustic Album

Bookmark and Share

Younger Brother have had a busy 12 months with live shows all over the place, a full electronic version of the latest album "Vaccine" reaching completion and now talk of the possibility of an acoustic version in the future. Here is a recent video of the lads filmed doing an acoustic version of their track "Spinning Into Place" for music magazine Relix. Pretty cool if you ask me ... bring on the acoustic album version !

> You might also like this Younger Brother Vaccine Album post

Posted on 29.2.12 by PsyAmb TAG : | 0 Comments ( ADD NEW COMMENT )

Psystep Dubstep Download - PsyAmb 45

Bookmark and Share

Today we have a psystep / dubstep mix for you all that you might want to turn up your speakers for. Dubstep was born out a mix of dub, breaks, drum and bass and 2-step and is characterized by its now all too familiar wobbly basslines. It took over the world in the early half of last decade and was quickly followed by the inevitable cashing in by commercial enterprises. That resulted in a lot of good dubstep being drowned in a sea of god awful music.

As a welcome offshoot of the dubstep sound, psystep makes use of the dubstep basslines and infuses it with psychedelic melodies and percussion that is often heard in psytrance or psychedelic ambient music.

While there is now a plethora of dubstep artists out there, psystep producers remain relatively few. An occasional tune pops up on regular dubstep compilations now and again. There have also been a number of psystep tunes released on dubstep downloads on offer at free web label sites and archives such as

Some of the leading best psychedelic dubstep / psystep artists include Bird Of Prey ( my personal favorite ), Liquid Stranger, Brujo's Bowl, Heyoka, Phutureprimitive, Ott, Nanda and Kaminanda.  Having never mixed anything as 'heavy' as this before I found it quite a challenge. Certainly a lot more difficult than mixing the ambient tunes I usually upload here. Anyway, if you like your music a with a little more bite you might get a kick out of this psystep/dubstep mix.

My usual file hosting site is having problems this weekend so I've uploaded this to Soundcloud for now. Soundcloud has a download limit I think ( I'm using the free version ). Hopefully my regular host site will be sorted out by the time we get to the download limit. To download the mix simply select the download button at the top right of the player below. Cheers ...

Track / Artist
    • 01. Runaway Boy  -  Lulu Rouge
    • 02. Grainface  -  Nagual Sound Experiment
    • 03. Ikodia   -  Outersect [ An-ten-nae remix ]
    • 04. Spirit Speaks  -  Nanda
    • 05. India Sleeping  -  Mars
    • 06. Finale  -  Cybernetika
    • 07. Atrium  -  Bird Of Prey
    • 08. Quicksilver  -  Birds of Paradise
    • 09. Sub Tropics  - Bird of Prey vs Random
    • 10. Nothing Can Go Wrong  -  Horsepower Productions
    • 11. With Angels  -  HECQ [ Trifonic remix ]
    • 12. Fur Bot  -  Morphonix
    • 13. Adrift In Hilbert Space  -  Ott
    • 14. Walk  -  Ed7
    • 15. S'Elf Power  -  Kaminanda

    Play And Download Option 1 : ( downloads available for first 100 people )

    Play And Download Option 2 : ( unlimited downloads )

    Direct Download. Right click then select 'Save link as ... '

    > You might also like this ambient dub - psyamb 38

    Posted on 20.2.12 by PsyAmb TAG : | 6 Comments ( ADD NEW COMMENT )

    Psybient Mix Download - PsyAmb 44

    Bookmark and Share

    Welcome to the latest psychedelic ambient mix in the psyamb series. There has been a lot of great music released over the Christmas and New Year period with a number of excellent looking releases due next month too from the likes of Kuba ( Random Precision ), Seamoon ( Expressions Of The Moment ), Astropilot ( Fruits Of The Imagination 2 ), Shulman ( Alive ),  Special Places ( Various Artists ), Greenosophy ( Various Artists, Ultimae ) and James Murray ( Floods ).

    Today we kick of with the track "Etheral Dream" from Uth ( Alex Lytvyn ). Some of you may remember Alex's work on DJ Zen's Fire compilation a few years back. This track comes from Turtlitava compilation which is now available as a free download from the Ektoplazm website where it is getting great feedback.

    lauge-and-baba-gnohm-langbortistanNext is one of 2011's best artists, Lauge and Baba Gnohm. After a few compilation tracks and an EP release, LABG really delivered the goods with their debut release "Langbortistan". This tune, "H2O", is a hypnonoic slice of melodic grandeur. If you dig this tune why not follow the guys on Facebook as they are always more then happy to communicate with listeners and appreciate a kind word or two. 

    After LABG is a tune from Russia's Super Special from their debut album "Crystal Forest", released on Trimurti Records around the middle on 2011. This album didn't get the widest of distribution or feedback which is a shame really because although it may not be as polished as a Shpongle album it certainly is a lot of fun with a kind of 60's psych feel mixed with trance melodies and percussion.

    Following on from Super Special is Dubtrak with his tune "Dark River Tribe". This tune is a real treat and reminds me of some old school psychedelic ambient music with its evolving structures that slowly build layers of dreamy sounds shifting in and out of each other - kind of like early Saafi Brothers in a way. 

    Posted on 3.2.12 by PsyAmb TAG : | 3 Comments ( ADD NEW COMMENT )